Midnight sun (well, almost)

It was almost midnight in the country up north and it was still as bright as day outside. I do not know why the street lights are switched on during summer 🙂 I was in the south of the country so we do not have the midnight sun, but it does not get dark at all throughout the night.

I took this photo on between 23.40 and 23.45 hours. Can you believe it?

IMG-20140609-WA0000

In summer, the sun sets very late and rises very early. It is a very interesting phenomenon. I remember the first time I experienced this – I could hardly sleep for several nights because this was a really exciting and strange thing for me. Of course, I learnt about this at school but experiencing it is another different story.

This is another photo I took on the same day:

20140610_113026

I think I should visit a place where they have the midnight sun some day. Have you seen the midnight sun before?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KimRidge Farmer
    Nov 23, 2014 @ 19:29:32

    Yep, aha, I believe it. I grew up in Norway and Russia (and everywhere in-between). I remember playing outdoors with other kids till 11:00 p.m. or even later in the summer not even realizing the time. It was too light to sleep anyway, and so much fun to be out there all day and almost all night long. It wasn’t hot either. Summers of my childhood were pleasantly mild.

    There is a flip side to this coin though. Winters are dark. You have only a few hours of very dim light produced by low-to-horizon sun. I made a silly mistake once of taking my husband to visit my family for Christmas a few years back. He had never experienced such dark winters and was quite disoriented. You can wake up at 7:00 a.m. and it’s pitch black. Thinking it’s still night, you go back to sleep. At 9:00 a.m. it’s still pitch black. You sleep till 11:00 a.m. or until you realize that most of your morning is gone and you have just a few hours of daylight to enjoy. Dark and cold winters are fun though, they bring families together.

    Reply

    • zambianlady
      Nov 23, 2014 @ 21:25:57

      Tell me about those short summer nights. I could not sleep my first summer in the country up north because of how light it was. My mind kept on saying this was not true, it will get dark but of course it did not. It was very exciting to see that what I had learnt in school was real. Ah, summer!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

