Calling my loved ones

I was talking to a colleague, “Andreas”, on Thursday and he told me that his sister had passed away in a road traffic accident the day before.  He was in shock and was said he hoped to be told that there had been a mistake and that his sister was still alive and well.  Unfortunately, his hope was not fulfilled.

Andreas mentioned that the only consolation was that he had spoken with his sister on Tuesday and everything had been fine.  Even though they had not specifically said “bye”, at least they had had a nice chat.  This made me immediately think of my siblings back home.  I called them to say hi as soon as I parted ways with Andreas.

Life is too short and unpredictable not to have a good relationship with your loved ones. 

 

Leave a Reply

