Austrian children

I never cease to be amazed at the way many parents in Vienna walk with their children. The parents will be walking in front with the children, some as young as five, following behind. Many times the parents do not even look behind to see if their children are still there.

I used to take care of my young niece and one thing I had instilled in her was that at no time whatsoever, was she to walk behind me because someone could kidnap her and I would not know. Of course, there was no threat of kidnapping – it was just something instilled in me by my mother when I was a child. I

So, you can see why I get surprised when I see children walking several paces behind their parents with no communication. Is Vienna that safe? Do the parents trust that their children will continue following them and not be distracted by something and thus get lost? It may be something small, but one that never ceases to amaze me.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jesusknowsmyname
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 19:34:55

    I have seen many mothers with children who follow behind like ducklings and the mother does not look back to see if they are safe. I would have to look behind to make sure my child was safe. When I was a young mother, I would carry my youngest, and then I told my older child to hang onto my coat so that I would know she was with me. Children are so precious and worthy of all care and concern. They are so needy and look to adults for protection and care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

