Taking lunch to work – not ‘sexy’

I was minding my own business in the elevator one day when I heard an interesting conversation among very young men and women which went as follows:

Young man 1: What do you think of a guy who takes lunch to work?
Young man 2: What? I would never do that.
Young woman 1: Seriously! How can a man take lunch to work?
Young woman 2: It’s not sexy at all!
Young woman 2: I would not date a man that carries lunch to work.

I had to get off the elevator at that point and did not hear the rest of the insightful conversation. A lot of things went through my mind. I asked myself if these kids know that:

a) One can save a lot of money by carrying lunch to work?
b) Home cooked food is tastier?
c) Home cooked food is usually healthier?
d) Some people prefer eating their own food? I know one guy who has at least a million USD in his retirement fund, but still bring lunch almost every day.

I have carried lunch to the office at different times and never thought much whether it is ‘sexy’ to do so or not.

What do you think of these kids’ opinions? Do you think that they were saying these things because they are young or out of ignorance?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Sicilian Housewife
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 15:09:46

    Ha ha! In my husband’s office, the men all take ingredients to work and cook lunch for everyone, in the office! They have actually taken a little stove and saucepans to keep there.
    The men cook for the ladies – I think those ladies find it very sexy having men cook for them!!! I certainly would! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  2. moneypropeller
    Dec 02, 2014 @ 03:24:39

    Haha. I would never, ever have thought to describe taking lunch as sexy or not sexy! How ridiculous. I hope they grow out of it.

    Reply

    • zambianlady
      Dec 07, 2014 @ 13:45:29

      I also hope that life and wisdom will help them grow out of their outlook. Sometimes we just need a bit more of life experiences and a couple of years to learn that not everything has to be sexy.

      Reply

  3. earthriderjudyberman
    Nov 27, 2014 @ 03:07:02

    When I was younger, I usually bought lunch. I liked being able to get out of the office and hanging out with my friends. But that changed years ago. I bring my lunch to work because it’s better than waiting in line for lunch at the school where I work. It might not be sexy but it saves me money. I doubt that I would judge a man on whether or not he brings his lunch. (My husband also packs his lunch.) πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  4. zambianlady
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 19:54:01

    That’s a good one – that you find each other sexy πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. jesusknowsmyname
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 19:15:23

    I think some women might find that a young man with a million in his retirement fund is very sexy… ha! Maybe sexy enough to latch onto him and marry him— seriously, marriages happen for a lot less sane reasons! I take my lunch to work— it’s less expensive and tastes better, and my husband takes his too– but we still think each other is sexy. Funny topic!

    Reply

  6. lbeth1950
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 23:22:25

    How about both.

    Reply

  7. Girl Gone Expat
    Nov 15, 2014 @ 22:45:34

    It has never passed my mind to think of brining lunch as either sexy or not sexy… Wonder where they got that from?? Hehe… I almost always bring my own lunch, but I am very lucky to have a husband who make lunch and wraps it up for me every morning:)

    Reply

  8. Cheyanne
    Nov 14, 2014 @ 21:39:13

    HAHAHAHA! The things people think affect their “sexiness” crack me up! Actually, I find financial responsibility to be pretty sexy myself!

    Reply

    • zambianlady
      Nov 14, 2014 @ 21:53:22

      Financial responsibility and freedom are the really ‘sexy’ things. I guess those young people are in a different place for now.

      Reply

      • Cheyanne
        Nov 14, 2014 @ 21:55:06

        I’m only 26! Am I already in the “not-young” camp? Damn, that was fast! πŸ˜‰

      • zambianlady
        Nov 15, 2014 @ 18:20:21

        In this case, if you do not think that taking lunch to work is not sexy, then you are definitely not in this camp. πŸ˜‰ On a serious note, I think that age may not be the real issue, but just the people’s perspectives.

Leave a Reply

