What do you think of Jews?

Apartment hunting

I had just arrived in Vienna and was looking for an apartment to rent on the internet. I viewed a few apartments but did not like any of them. Finally, I found the one and only that was meant for me and I fell in love with it at once. I chatted with the then current owner who was cutting his lease short and so had to find a new tenant. He told me some information about the apartment and everything that I needed to know.

Do you like Jews?
As we were winding up, he asked me a question I found strange. He asked “What do you think of Jews?” I did not pay attention and just talked about the apartment. He let me talk and as I was saying bye, he asked again: “What do you think of Jews?”. (I had taken it that he meant Jews as a religious group and not a nationality).

I got a call the following day from the estate agent who manages the apartment and said I had got it and asked me to go over to his office. I went over and we discussed all the details, etc. As I was leaving, the estate agent asked me “What do you think of Jews?” This was an interesting question, again, and I asked if he was serious. He assured me that he was, because one of the criteria for being a tenant was that they should accept Jews and not want to harm them. He further said the apartment is owned by the Israeli Government and they want ‘friendly’ people in their property.

My response

I gave him the same response I had given the first guy who had asked which was “I think of Jews the way I think of Christians, Muslisms and other religions. I mind my own business and I expect them to mind their own business” He was happy with the answer and confirmed that I could have the apartment. I thought “that was easy.”

Police on duty at my apartment building

I moved into the apartment a couple of weeks later and I like the apartment and area it is in. I went grocery shopping the first Saturday morning and found two policemen at the main door and there was a lot of activity. I got a bit worried and asked the policemen what was going. They said nothing was going on. I found them again on Friday evening, but this time I did not ask them. It was only later I learnt that the police were there to protect the Jews who came to the synagogue (they have space on one of the floors) on Fridays and Saturdays.

Jews were taken to Auschwitz from my building

A friend brought to my attention the memorial plaque outside my apartment building showing Jews that taken from the building to Auschwitz and Latvia. I know from history that Jews had a dark period during WWII, but it was distant to me and so to see the plaque and live in an apartment where someone may have been taken to Auschwitz really brought it home to me. I wrote a post earlier about the the memorial plaque here: https://zambianlady.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/13/

Here is the plaque outside my apartment:
IMG_2323

Having this new piece of information made me say to myself “No wonder the landlord wants me to accept Jews!”

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gallivanta
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 02:22:27

    That would seem an odd question until fully explained. 🙂

    Reply

  2. QueasyPeasy
    Nov 27, 2014 @ 11:01:17

    Food for thought. Questions like the one posed to you number of times cause us to stop and think about our beliefs about certain issues or people groups. Prejudice arises from a lack of self-awareness and it is good to be roused from our complacency and be forced to revisit the reasons we hold certain beliefs.

    Reply

  3. earthriderjudyberman
    Nov 26, 2014 @ 00:24:30

    I agree with your response. If we all viewed each other as individuals instead of as part of a group, the world would be a much happier place. I might have been put off by the question. But, after reading your excellent post, I can see why they were screening potential residents. 😉

    Reply

  4. LeisureFreak Tommy
    Nov 25, 2014 @ 03:44:31

    Wow! I was taken back by the questions as I was reading but now I see why and perhaps the first person could have explained things after you answered. My mother was a refuge during WW2 in Germany and Poland. They were marched by the German army and my uncle who was only 6 at the time starved to death. They spent time in Warsaw in the non-Jewish part. The horrors of that war and regime. Now the Jews are still under threat. I suppose there are many groups of people similar questions could be asked if they were the dominate residence of a building before allowing someone to move in. There is too much hatred.

    Reply

    • zambianlady
      Nov 26, 2014 @ 10:46:45

      I can imagine how terrified a young boy must have been! I just hope and pray that we see less and less of religions and peoples not accepting each other. Thank you for sharing your story.

      Reply

  5. jesusknowsmyname
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 19:03:54

    I’m actually intrigued by the Jewish people and their history. The Jewish people are God’s chosen people. In Genesis 12:3, God tells Abraham that, “And I will bless those who bless you, and the one that curses you, I will curse.” This is only one of many reasons that the United States should stand by the nation of Israel. The Jewish people have been persecuted since the beginning of time and the other day, I finally realized why: They are God’s chosen people, and Satan hates God. Evil is the reason the Jewish people have been hounded and persecuted for centuries. I find the Nazi atrocities against the Jews especially horrendous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

