My birthday in Florida

I lived in the US a few years ago and I decided to treat myself to a birthday to Mexico one year.  Unfortunately, that is the time violence in Mexico was just starting to be widely reported so I decided not to go there.  Instead, I went to Florida.

One of the things I did was have my first (and only, so far) helicopter ride.  It was a lot of fun, I must say, and this was the highlight of my trip even if I saw the chopper place quite by accident.  Here I am posing before starting the ride – do you see the excitement in the way I am standing?.  I am a very shy person, so I blurred out my face.

I am still shy about showing my face :(

I am still shy about showing my face 😦

Taking off time – that’s me next to the pilot.  I had the best view in the chopper.

About to take off

About to take off

The next three photos were courtesy of the chopper company.  This was a good gesture because I was enjoying flying so much that I would not have had the time to take photos 🙂

Over Wet 'n Wild, Disney

Over Wet ‘n Wild, Disney

 

Sea Word

Over Sea Word

 

Planet Hollywood

Planet Hollywood

Disney was fine but I don’t think it was the best place for me to visit.  A friend had raved about the fun she had had, but I only later realized that she enjoyed it because her kids had enjoyed it.  Do I regret going to Florida?  I don’t, but I don’t think I would want  to go there again unless I was taking some youngsters who would appreciate the make believe world.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anotherday2paradise
    Dec 27, 2014 @ 02:29:41

    Whilst I was up in the helicopter, hubby and our son and friends were white water rafting below. 🙂

    Reply

  2. anotherday2paradise
    Dec 26, 2014 @ 19:49:58

    I’ve only been in a helicopter once. It was an amazing ride over Victoria Falls. I loved it, and got a great aerial photo too. 🙂

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Dec 26, 2014 @ 20:46:07

      You have been to my homeland? I can only imagine how the Victoria Falls looks from up there. I don’t know if I could do it with that chasm just waiting to swallow someone (at least that is how I feel).

      Reply

  3. Bill
    Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:46:24

    We lived in Tampa many years and I often had to go to Orlando. I’ve seen that helicopter ride place many times. I’ve often thought it might be fun to ride in it!

    I don’t enjoy places like Disney at all. I’ll take a quiet beach or a hike in the woods any time. 🙂

    I hope you eventually were able to visit Mexico.

    Best wishes for a Merry Christmas and joyous season!

    Reply

  4. kay ~ lifestylevoices.com
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 13:12:49

    You are a brave woman! I don’t even like flying in a commercial airplane. Great pictures. I know we went to Disneyworld once and it was a yawn. We went when my son was 4 and had a blast! So, I think you’re right, a kid is the key to enjoying that park. Fun post, Zambian Lady! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

