Winter in the country up north

Happy New Year to all…….

I am visiting the country up north for the festive season where I have enjoyed being with loved ones.  It started snowing a couple of days after I arrived and I went ice skating with some friends.  Of course, I fell countless times as I have not skated in three years but it was still a blast.   By the time skating was over, my left palm was swollen, left elbow bruised, left shoulder felt as it was dislocated and the left side of my back also felt as if something was wrong with it. Basically, the left side of my body was almost non-functioning.   Oh, what fun! 🙂

Here are some pictures:

1.  Some seasoned skaters and hockey players doing their thing.  As you can see, it is snowing whole heartedly. A snow plow was going round clearing the snow continuously.

20141222_125729

The temperature was about -15 degrees C last Monday and I had to run errands in town. The lowest temperature I have had to walk in was -20 degrees C a few years ago and that was brutal.  I could not believe that people still had to carry on with daily life in that wicked weather!  I felt like just curling up in my warm bed and hibernating until spring.  I met up with a Thai friend last Wednesday and we walked around the town center a bit.  We both commented on how ‘very warm’ it was – it was one degree Celsius.

2.  Just look at this innocent look snow!  I am glad we had a white Christmas – it just makes that special day feel all the more special.

20141223_134546

One custom I found shocking here is that in winter some parents put their bundled up babies outside to take a nap.     The reasoning is that babies need fresh air to sleep well and that many of them can not nap in the house.  I wonder what happens at night.  Do the parents let the baby fall sleep outside first then bring it inside?

3. More pure, innocent looking snow:

20141223_134317

I have a Zambian friend who travels a lot within Southern and East African.  She spends about three weeks every month outside Zambia on duty travel, but has never been outside Africa.  Her one dream is to visit a country where it snows one winter just to experience life there.  When I told her about my aches and pains from falling, she said she wanted to have the ‘opportunity’ to fall on ice as well when she visits so that she can have a well rounded winter experience.  What?!

4.  Just look at how the snow is balancing on the berries:20141223_135325

The snow has mostly melted and turned into dirty brown slush.  The first time I saw snow was years ago when I was landing in Washington, DC.  I was wondering what the dirty looking brown piles pushed to the end runways were.  Half my mind said “snow”, but the other half said “no, snow is white”.  Well it turned out to be snow and what a disappointment it was.

And on this positive note, I would like to with you a prosperous 2015, again.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Naomi
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 10:26:13

    I love a proper snowy cold winter! I swear I feel colder at a rainy 4C than a snowy -10, that humid cold gets into my bones, ugh. When I was a child we had about a 2 km walk to the school bus and the bus stopped running at -30, so we were always excited when it was -30 and we didn’t have to go to school. Of course, I would never be so nerdy to wear long johns, so I walked to the bus in sub -20C with only jeans on my legs! Crazy when I think of it now. When it does snow I’m out there with the kids, sledding and building snowmen and forts. The first few summers in Slovakia I thought I would melt, 37C is much too hot!

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Jan 05, 2015 @ 12:22:36

      -30 degrees? I would just die! On the other hand, 37 degrees is also too hot for me and actually anything above 30 degrees kills me when there is humidity.

      Reply

  2. Mr. FC
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 03:53:29

    So many great photos! We had a few snow flurries here in LA but nothing stuck. Very unusual to get snow here, though! Love reading through the blog, have a happy and prosperous 2015!

    Reply

  3. Amy
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 00:47:02

    Beautiful snow via your lens. It looks peaceful, but I don’t deal with cold temperature well. 🙂

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Jan 04, 2015 @ 11:17:55

      I know – some people prefer hot climes (like I do) while others prefer cold ones. I remember my first snowy and dark winter – I got depressed! It was too much shock for my system, but I had to adapt as I had chosen live in the cold country.

      Reply

  4. gallivance.net
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 22:01:05

    I’ve never heard of putting the babies outside to sleep, and it makes me cold just thinking about it. But babies are a clean slate, and they know and remember what they’re taught and what they experience. So I guess it makes sense that in a cold climate, babies need to learn at a young age what cold is about. Nice snow photos. ~James

    Reply

  5. joannesisco
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 13:37:20

    I loved your pictures of the snow … but as a Canadian, the snow doesn’t have the same attraction for me. We’re more inclined to escape south to the warm beaches of the Caribbean to get away from it … if we’re lucky 🙂
    Happy New Year!!

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Jan 02, 2015 @ 13:47:08

      Isn’t it interesting that we are usually attracted to what we do not have? My friend in Zambia who has never seen snow was complaining that God favors people in the west because He gave them snow. Funny! Thanks, have a great year too.

      Reply

  6. anotherday2paradise
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 02:10:38

    I know that when I was a baby in England in the 1940’s, it was the custom to put babies outside in their prams, whatever the weather, unless of course it was pouring with rain. I survived and was a very healthy child. 😀 Sorry about your skating accident. that must have been very sore indeed. Hope you’re all mended now.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Jan 02, 2015 @ 10:50:31

      This custom has taught me that a little cold weather is apparently not bad for a child, though it’s difficult to wrap my Zambian mind around it. Have a prosperous and healthy 2015.

      Reply

  7. gfchopstix
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 15:08:56

    The snow does look pure, clean and bright, but of course, that is until it starts to melt, and then, as you say, it is brown slush – not at all appealing! Beautiful shot of the berries 🙂 Happy New Year to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

