Almost killed by a toilet

It has been many many years since the incidence happened but I remember it like it was yesterday.  That toilet almost killed/murdered/mutilated/assassinated/exterminated me!

I was still living with my parents –  I got up one day in the morning and went to the loo which was outside the house.  I noticed a tiny crack at the foot of the wall, but went in, did my business and walked out.  My mother was just coming out of the house and, while pointing at the toilet, I said “Mum, the toilet …..”  There was a loud crack followed by a crash even before I finished the sentence.

The loo had fallen!  My mother grabbed and hugged me tightly and exclaimed that I had almost been crushed to death.  It was a very scary experience.

It would not have been the first time a building would have fallen while I was inside only that the earlier times only one wall had fallen and so I had been relatively safe.  I am grateful that the toilet only crashed after I had walked out.  I hope I never have to go through another building going down around me.  The loo and houses whose walls fell were made of unburnt mud bricks, so they melted and fell.

Is there something about toilets and I? After all, I wrote about the issue of toilets in an earlier post.  You can only imagine why I appreciate having a solid indoor loo.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gallivanta
    Jan 31, 2015 @ 00:30:10

    Death by toilet; not a good look. 😦

    Reply

  2. LaVagabonde
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 07:34:31

    That would have been a rather undignified way to die. Stories like this make me realize the “little” things that I take for granted.

    Reply

  3. earthriderjudyberman
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 02:21:46

    I think I would swear off outdoor toilets for life. Glad you got thru that OK. Love your comment above that “Death by loo would not look nice in an obituary either.” So true. 😉

    Reply

  4. anotherday2paradise
    Jan 21, 2015 @ 14:55:48

    That wouldn’t have been a very nice way to go. Timing is everything. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Bill
    Jan 21, 2015 @ 13:14:03

    I can understand why that would be burned into your memory. That’s not the way anyone would choose to go.

    Reply

  6. Sharon Greene
    Jan 21, 2015 @ 11:24:06

    What a bizarre way to almost die! Talk about a freak accident.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

