Visit to Girona, Spain

I visited Barcelona a couple of years ago and a friend recommended that I make a day trip to Gerona to see the famed colorful apartments.  True to my friend’s word, the apartments were very colorful and having a river run through the town did not hurt a bit.

Gerona!

Girona!

Like in Barcelona, there were a lot of Catalunya flags hanging from buildings.  I wonder whether Catalunya will be independent one day.

Catalunya flag

Catalunya flag

What I enjoyed most about Girona was the Jewish quarter which looked very old and had a lot of character.  The roads were very narrow and I found the drying racks right above the streets quite interesting.

Look at the drying racks

Look at the drying racks in the Jewish quarter

I also visited the Cathedral (built in Gothic style) which is quite big and has some catacombs in it, though I did not get to see them.

Door to Gerona Cathedral

Door to Girona Cathedral

Just look at the apartment block below.  Isn’t it beautiful?

Nice apartment block

Nice apartment block

 

View down from the Cathedral

View down from the Cathedral

I liked the narrow archways in Girona.  I did not realize at first that cars passed under the arches until I saw one.  I just had to take a photo when I saw one.

Narrow archway/road

Narrow archway/road

I finished my tour around 4.00 pm and went in search of dinner since I had not had any lunch.  Guess what?  The restaurants were closed and would only open around 7.00 pm.  That is Spain for you!  I had my dinner when I returned to Barcelona.

The visit to Girona was nice.  However, for me, the visit was made all the more worthwhile because of the Jewish quarter.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. earthriderjudyberman
    Mar 01, 2015 @ 21:37:33

    That’s a beautiful shot of the car on the cobblestone streets. We’ve never been to Spain, but the neighborhoods pictured are wonderful.

    We got used to eating late when we were in Paris. They began around 7 or 8, I believe. But a full day on an empty stomach? I’d be searching for some snacks. 😉

    Reply

  2. Minuscule Moments
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 07:52:21

    What a beautiful city, love your photos. Kath.

    Reply

  3. Bill
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 12:34:07

    We spent a pleasant day in Girona a few years ago. Walked around the old city walls, visited the cathedral and enjoyed a nice meal. A nice break from the Barcelona madness. 🙂

    As for dinner, in Spain you could always tell the tourists because they were the only ones in the restaurants at 7. The Spanish usually eat around 10!

    Reply

  4. The Sicilian Housewife
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 12:06:33

    I love your photo tours of cities – the next best thing to actually going there!
    This city looks similar to a lot of Italian cities, including the traffic driving through an arch, which used to be a gateway in the city fortification walls.

    Reply

  5. jedib
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 20:14:36

    Great photos! I’ve been to Barcelona a few times, but never to Girona… another item on my to-go list.

    Reply

  6. Gallivanta
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 08:57:47

    What a wonderful variety of architecture. I wonder how long it takes to get the washing dry in such a cramped area?

    Reply

  7. LaVagabonde
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 07:30:09

    Spanish towns have so much character. I would be afraid to drive through those narrow archways and streets, though!

    Reply

  8. Jill Weatherholt
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 23:01:48

    Thanks for sharing your beautiful photos. I guess it’s a good idea to eat a big breakfast.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

