You should see my Ray-Bans

I was sunbathing one summer outside my office when a young intern I knew passed by.  We exchanged pleasantries and our deep, meaningful and highly stimulating conversation then went as follows:

Me:  Those are nice sunglasses you are wearing.

Girl:  Thanks.  These are Gucci, but you should see my Ray-Bans.

Me:  Gucci, Ray-Bans?  That’s good.  I buy mine from Bipa (they cost less than EUR15.00)

Girl:  You should never buy cheap things.  You should buy quality and have them insured in case you lose or break them.

Below is a sample of cheap Bipa sunglasses.  I don’t think they are bad looking but the main thing is they get the job done:

Bipa sunglasses

Needless to say, I found this conversation outside my sphere because:

1) I am not interested in brand names.  I do buy brand names if I have to, but the generic ones work more for me.

2) I have family responsibilities that I prioritize more than having a brand name.  The girl lives with her parents and has zero responsibilities as far as I know.

3) I am not a free model.  If there is one thing I hate, it is to be a free advert for someone so much that I rarely wear anything showing the name of a brand.

4) The fact that I grew up during a period before people went crazy with brand names may have made me not care much for them.  I don’t know…..

All the same, can anyone buy me some Gucci sunglasses? 🙂

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. baliinfoblog
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 23:00:28

    TotalOh agree, I never buy brand names, I do not believe in spending so much money on “things”. I would prefer to use my money to travel and see more of the world, whilst wearing my cheap sunglasses!

    Reply

  2. michelledfarrell
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 20:26:25

    I’ve never been one to buy the Gucci, Prada, Louis Vutton etc. I, however, like quality items and clothing and will spend a bit more on these things. The big difference with me is that I will keep said purchases for more than one season. Truthfully, I keep things for at least two years. This trick when buying non-cheap items is to buy those that are non-seasonal/classics. Sorry, I’m a bit late to the party. 🙂

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Mar 28, 2015 @ 13:20:14

      Quality is quality no matter what the brand. Like you say, it doesn’t have to be LV,etc. Most of my summer clothes are ‘brandless’ traditional African and I have had them for more than ten years. They are also still in perfect condition. I have lived in several countries during this period so the clothes seem to be “brand new” in the countries I have lived in 🙂

      Reply

  3. earthriderjudyberman
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 00:44:07

    Good points, Zambian Lady. I avoid most brand name clothes because, like you, I don’t get paid to advertise their product. I do make an exception on ‘Life is Good’ T-shirts because they are designed for women and wear well for a long time. OK, I confess, I also bought a brand-name purse – I use it every day. So, for me, the investment is worth it. 😉

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Mar 18, 2015 @ 18:26:06

      I do not mind buying brand names per se, but it’s only when they are taken as the only options that I find it uncomfortable and I do not agree with that. I have a couple of brand name items, but I prefer the no name brands as they work well enough for me. However, like you say, investing in a long-lasting item is a good thing to do.

      Reply

  4. peakperspective
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 23:52:34

    Boy, are you preaching to the choir! From my side of the screen, I could have echoed word for word what you just wrote and I just read. Where is the common sense in spending money on an embroidered or embossed name – when it isn’t even your own? There are few things in this world that I will pay extra money for, but that is strictly based on the rule that you pay for what you get. Cheap and cheerful works wonderfully for many, many things – like sunglasses and socks and toothpaste. I might, however, make an exception for a decent pair of shoes. Not to get some fancy high heels with Ferragamo’s’s name on the inside, but rather something that will support my spine and allow me to walk far and strong.
    Lovely post!

    Reply

  5. Minuscule Moments
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 20:00:52

    I believe as we age we have the permission to NOT follow the crowd. Anyone who relies on a brand names does not impress me. I say do what makes you happy. Everybody is different and you cannot stuff us all in the same box. Thankfully.

    Reply

  6. The Sicilian Housewife
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 11:26:38

    Oh I agree so strongly! I try to tell people these days that the extra you pay for branded goods is not for higher quality materials or workmanship, but to finance their advertising campaign!
    They just don’t seem to care that T-shirts from the supermarket are made in the same factory as “designer” T-shirts costing ten times as much.
    As you say, I suppose people waste money just because they can… or perhaps because they lack the imagination to spend it on something more important and interesting???

    Reply

  7. jedib
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 11:15:12

    I totally agree with all of the above. I am willing to pay more for higher quality, but an expensive brand doesn’t automatically mean that you’ll get a better item. Also, I usually ask myself who is making the money. If I buy, say, a t-shirt for 60 euros instead of 15, who is pocketing the difference? The people laboring in the sweat shops? Not really…

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Mar 14, 2015 @ 17:51:36

      You know what? I rarely think about the sweatshop workers because I find it very uncomfortable, but you are right. Who is pocketing the profits? The guys that are already rich get richer. Like you, I don’t mind buying brand names if the quality is worth it or I really like the item.

      Reply

  8. Gallivanta
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 07:01:28

    I have an old pair of Ray Bans; so old they are stylish again. 😀 When I bought them I had no idea they were a special brand. I just liked them.

    Reply

  9. mukhamani
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 03:25:31

    Here too, some people are so obsessed with brand names, they pay ten times more for them. I too feel like you do. Once during a function my daughter’s friend was wearing a very simple sari while all the others had worn beautiful saris and i had wondered. My daughter later told me the sari had been a branded one:)))

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Mar 14, 2015 @ 17:55:31

      It is interesting that the more expensive item is not necessarily the most beautiful. I have seen similar things where one is complimented by many people for the inexpensive item and yet they do not notice the brand name item. Thank you for commenting….

      Reply

  10. anotherday2paradise
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 19:07:24

    Hahaha. Some people are so obsessed with brand names. I remember oncebuying our son-in-law a shirt for his birthday. he didn’t say, “Thanks for the lovely shirt,” but “Thank you for my Pringle.” I hadn’t even looked at the label when I bought it. I just thought the colour and style would suit him. 🙂

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Mar 14, 2015 @ 18:00:54

      I had to google for Pringle as I have not heard of it before. I guess your son-in-law just thought what a fashionable mum-in-law he has, not knowing that you bought style/brand name unknowingly 🙂

      Reply

  11. The Twisted Yarn
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 17:10:29

    I couldn’t agree more. I think sometimes people hide behind the ‘safety’ of brand names because they lack the courage to know what they really like and wear those things with confidence.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

