View Eclipse Old School Way

As everybody knows there is an eclipse of the sun today (what?!! you don’t know?).  I didn’t pay attention to it but a friend invited me to view the eclipse the old school way – using a floppy disk.

Said floppy dis

Said floppy dis

At first I laughed him off, until he showed me the technique of doing it.  You just slide that silver part to the right and peep through the left side and voila – you have eclipse of the sun glasses! Using the diskette made the experience more enjoyable.

Well, I can’t live in the past so I grabbed my modern day camera phone for a photo and used modern day technology to upload the photo on the blog.

Old meets new…..

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pecora Nera
    Mar 31, 2015 @ 20:36:07

    The last school that Mrs Sensible worked at still used 3″ and 5″ floppy discs… but then this is Italy

    Reply

  2. Gallivanta
    Mar 30, 2015 @ 08:17:41

    An intriguing idea.

    Reply

  3. earthriderjudyberman
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 21:24:48

    Impressive, Zambian Lady. I bet I have a floppy disc around here somewhere. Did you get any photos of the eclipse?

    Reply

  4. Bill
    Mar 22, 2015 @ 12:00:57

    Good to know there is still a use for floppy discs, however infrequently they may be needed. 🙂

    Reply

  5. jedib
    Mar 22, 2015 @ 08:03:27

    I am very impressed that you had floppy disks on hand!

    Reply

  6. masgautsen
    Mar 20, 2015 @ 11:05:16

    I was not out to see the solar eclipse today, but I did notice that it became much darker outside.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

