Palm fronds – Austrian style

Easter is around the corner and in many parts of the world, palm fronds will be used in processions and celebrations.  Well, Austria is not palm tree country, so the faithful have to find a way to have something similar.  In comes pussy willow – I got the name from Goolge, so it has to be correct 🙂  I was informed that pussy willow is used in lieu of palm fronds.

Here is a sample as displayed in the neighborhood Spar shop:

20150318_184656

 

 

A closer look at the plant:

20150318_184709

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Apr 02, 2015 @ 13:00:21

    I love pussy willows. I came across your blog from Mommermom. Thank you for sharing these delightful little blooms. I live in the desert now and so… I do not get to see them anymore! In the wild… they are a medium tree and begin to pop when the spring begins to warm up a bit. You will find them mostly in a meadow where it is a bit damp. THANK YOU for sharing and jogging my memory! 🙂

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Apr 02, 2015 @ 21:31:05

      Thank you for visiting 🙂 I am happy to know that I have reminded you of a beautiful plant. I had never heard of or seen pussy willows before moving to Austria. We learn something new everywhere we go.

      Reply

  2. Gallivanta
    Mar 30, 2015 @ 08:15:54

    A lovely substitute for palm fronds.

    Reply

  3. Bill
    Mar 29, 2015 @ 12:21:09

    Happy Palm Sunday to you!

    Reply

  4. masgautsen
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 05:22:21

    I have nominated you for an award, no need to accept or do anything about it, just my way of saying I appreciate your blog http://thethoughtsandlifeofme.com/2015/03/27/the-creative-blogger-award/

    Reply

  5. Girl Gone Expat
    Mar 26, 2015 @ 02:23:28

    They are beautiful. We have something similar that grows in the wild back home, directly translated from Norwegian to English we would call them pussy paws or goose chicks:)

    Reply

  6. earthriderjudyberman
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 21:50:13

    I’ve seen pussy willows in the wild when we lived in Central New York. They are a lovely, alternative choice for the occasion. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

