My wife is unfaithful!

My single friend, Gertrude, heard banging on her front door around 2.00 am.  She was alarmed at the noise and persistence of the ‘visitor’ and did not answer until she heard a familiar voice demanding that she opens the door.  It was her older brother, Sam.  Gertrude opened the door and Sam stormed in with his wife, Sharon, trailing behind.

Sam to his wife:  Tell my sister what you just told me!

Sharon:  There is nothing to say…..

Gertrude:  What is going on?

Sam:  Tell my sister what you just told me!

Sharon:  OK.  We went to a club with another couple.  Sam asked them whether they would remarry if the other died.  They both said they would after observing a respectful mourning period.  They in turn asked what we would do.  Sam said he would mourn for a respectful six months and then start dating as he did not want to be alone.  I said I would wait for the children to grow up and be independent before I started dating.

Sam:  You see?  My wife is unfaithful!  She can not wait for me to die before she runs off with another man.

Gertrude:  What is wrong with Sharon wanting to date at least ten years after you pass away?  Didn’t you say you would start dating after six months of her passing?

Sam:  My dating is not the issue.  It is her wanting to be with another man that is wrong!  Why can’t she just stay on her own?  Maybe she already has a boyfriend I am not aware of.  I can’t believe that she would want even think of remarrying.

Needless to say, there was no calming Sam down.  The question though is: Why should Sam want to marry and not expect his wife to do the same thing?  Sam was upset for a long time and would not listen to reason.  This state of affairs was serious but, for me, it was still funny.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kay ~ lifestylevoices.com
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 03:04:58

    This is why my husband and I stopped going out with other couples. It never ended well. There’s a little bit of “Sam” in every crowd.

    Reply

  2. Lola Jane
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 23:29:21

    I think it is funny, too!

    Reply

  3. Jill Weatherholt
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 23:02:46

    I love this! This story is exactly the reason why I majored in Psychology. People are so interesting. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Gallivanta
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 08:57:59

    Oh dear. Perhaps not advisable to ask these questions in the first place!

    Reply

  5. Girl Gone Expat
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 01:08:07

    I enjoy reading your stories, you come across so many episodes, both fun and serious ones.

    On this I feel it is very selfish not to want you wife to find companionship in the (unlikely) scenario that he should pass.

    Reply

  6. George
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 14:58:51

    Either Sam had too much to drink and wasn’t thinking rationally or he has some serious issues that have now become his wife’s issuea. I’m not sure this has a good ending.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Apr 07, 2015 @ 21:52:49

      At first drink was suspected, but his attitude did not change even after he sobered up. For some reason, he just took the whole thing (that he started) badly.

      Reply

  7. bill theunfetteredpreacher cote
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 14:34:06

    People are funny….ok for me not for you….or we must help this person, you give him some money

    Reply

Leave a Reply

