My body, my choice

I was minding my own business on one Washington, DC street when one woman rushed to me from my right side and another from my left.  I was puzzled and slightly alarmed as I could see that they were on serious missions.  “Right Lady” told me that not all hope was lost and that she could help me if I just went with her.  “Left Lady” said it was my body so it was my choice to do whatever I wanted and she could help me if only I went with her.  I was not going to go off with either stranger and be a willing participant in my own kidnapping!  I promptly ignored them.

I did not understand what was going as they were talking at the same time. The next time I ignored them again but turned left to see what choice was mine according to Left Lady.  You guessed it – an organization that helped people with pregnancy related issues.  In this case, it was Planned Parenthood.  I was surprised that Planned Parenthood encouraged abortion.  It was not because abortion is wrong, good, illegal or legal but because when I first heard about it several years ago in Zambia, it was sold to me as an organization that promoted family planning and responsible actions in youths.  Abortion was not mentioned (maybe because it is illegal in Zambia except in some instances).

The two women pressured me to make a choice even though I was not in the family way.  One time I saw a woman who was about seven months pregnant being accosted and she looked very scared and extremely confused.  She stood frozen in one spot for a couple of minutes before going with Left Lady to Planned Parenthood.  I felt bad that she had to make a very serious decision when she was in an apparently vulnerable position.

My body, my choice.  If I was expecting and needed to make a decision on whether I want to keep or terminate the pregnancy, I would certainly would not want to be almost ambushed on a city street.  It is my body and therefore, my choice, so please do not harass me in the street.  Maybe those two opposing organizations should be banned from accosting people in the street and only wait for clients in their own offices.  My experience was quite unpleasant to say the least.

My body, my choice, so leave me alone!  Don’t force me to go with you anywhere. I will come to you if I need you (which I will not be doing).

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Girl Gone Expat
    Apr 29, 2015 @ 21:09:27

    It almost sounds like harassment to me! I am sure people who want their input will contact them. I don’t think the opposite is needed. What a weird encounter.

    Reply

  2. Gallivanta
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 23:35:31

    How awful to be accosted like that. Even if a person was in need of help that kind of approach wouldn’t be helpful at all.

    Reply

  3. masgautsen
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 19:28:25

    That sounds like a very uncomfortable situation to be in. I very much agree with you about the my body my choice, leave me alone. It’s good to know that there are someone to talk to should you need help. But I would never go to an organisation if i felt harass by them in the street or any other place.

    Reply

  4. Grannymar
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 19:04:16

    How dreadful for you. I think I might have been tempted to use my pointy elbows in self defence.

    Reply

  5. The Sicilian Housewife
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 18:14:55

    That sounds very odd indeed and perhaps disturbing in the same way as some religious groups that feel the need to save my soul as I am getting off the train in Palermo and making sure I have all my things and that no vital part has fallen off my son’s toy before the door closes.
    I would guess these people have had a personal experience that made them develop a form of obsession and this is the only way they have found to deal with it. I can’t think of any other reason they would be so concerned with the way other people live their lives.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Apr 28, 2015 @ 19:30:42

      Actually these zealous women did remind me of some religious people (I will admit that I used to be like that once upon a time) who won’t give you any peace. It was a very uncomfortable experience.

      Reply

  6. anotherday2paradise
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 15:20:28

    What a weird experience! 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

