Impossible big letter “G”

My sister-in-law, Mulamu, came to live with me for a while when she was going to college and came with her baby and 4 year old daughter, NT.  I usually slept on while Mulamu prepared NT for nursery.  One day I heard commotion  in the morning and NT crying.  Mulamu called me because NT was refusing to go to nursery.

Me:  Why don’t you want to go to school, NT?

NT, while crying:  I don’t know how to write big letter G and Teacher will be upset with me.

Me:  Don’t worry.  Mummy will explain to Teacher that you tried your best but did not manage to write big letter G.

Mulamu:  OK, NT, let me write big letter G for you and you won’t be in trouble.  (Mulamu proceeded to write perfect big letter G.)

NT (in full mourning mode now):  No! Teacher will know that this is too perfect and will still be annoyed with me.  No one told me that school was so difficult.  I would not have agreed to go to school in the first place.  I am stopping school today! (More crying and then folding her legs on the sofa)

It took a lot of convincing for NT to finally agree to go to school and have her mother talk to Teacher.  When I came back from work, NT was in a great mood and had had a great day at school.

NT apparently thought big letter G was a life and death issue.  I usually think of my little niece’s reaction to her mammoth problem (to her, at least).  How many times have I been faced with a problem that overwhelmed me, but was actually small when I looked at it later?

There are many big letter G problems that we will face.  We should not lose hope and think that it is the end of the world.  It may not be easy at the moment, but many problems are here for just a moment and gone tomorrow.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill
    May 14, 2015 @ 09:58:58

    What a delightful story and metaphor. Over the winter I looked back at some journals from 8-10 years ago. Some of the things that seemed like HUGE problems and worries to me then, I can barely remember now. It’s good to keep that in mind.

    Reply

  2. Nomzi Kumalo
    May 09, 2015 @ 10:36:33

    🙂

    Reply

  3. masgautsen
    May 09, 2015 @ 07:36:59

    You are so right. It’s often easy for us adults to see the kids big letter G problems, but we can’t always identify the ones we encounter!

    Reply

  4. Grannymar
    May 09, 2015 @ 07:03:11

    Sitting on the sofa, our problems can grow to the size of the room, but by getting up and going outside, we meet others with far bigger problems than our own.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      May 10, 2015 @ 17:01:47

      Big letter G problems really do seem more difficult when you are in your own world. You only realize that what you are going through is negligible compared to others’.

      Reply

  5. bill theunfetteredpreacher cote
    May 09, 2015 @ 01:37:41

    If we could only remember that insight

    Reply

  6. Jill Weatherholt
    May 09, 2015 @ 00:47:24

    Aw…I remember feeling like NT, when I was young. That’s the great thing about being an adult, we know, this too shall pass. Great post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

