Landlord has foreign accent

I rent an apartment through a management company.  I will call the representative I deal with, Landlord. Landlord’s accent was very strange – one that I had never heard before and I knew instinctively that was a foreigner.

I could not place his nationality no matter how much I tried, so I thought that maybe he was from  one of the neighboring countries.  I then noticed that many people at the office and around Vienna had a very similar accent.  It then dawned on me that Landlord was not a foreigner, but I was!  I had not been able to place his accent only because I was not used to an Austrian German accent.  I felt very silly for thinking others as foreigners in their own country.

The moral of this story is, is …… OK, there is no moral to this story.  I felt silly at the end of the day…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jedib
    May 23, 2015 @ 11:23:33

    Your post made me chuckle – again! I don’t know if it’s any consolation, but some people in Austria don’t understand each other when they speak their own local dialect 🙂

    Reply

  2. Gallivanta
    May 21, 2015 @ 05:10:08

    That made me grin. It could have been worse. You could have said, ‘What an interesting accent. Where do you come from?” I did much the same to our vet. I asked if she was America. No, she says, Canadian. I could have kicked myself.

    Reply

  3. gfchopstix
    May 20, 2015 @ 13:52:21

    Isn’t it so interesting, that we try to place a certain accent, but then realise that we too have our own unique accent! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

