Budapest, Hungary

I have lived in Vienna for more than 3 years and yet never took time to visit Budapest, a city only 2.5 hours by train away.  However, I finally did so this past Saturday and it is one beautiful city!   I preferred the Buda side of the city, mainly because it is in the hills and there is a lot of nature and the stunning views of the city.

Here are some photos I took around the city:

1.  Hungarian Parliament Building on the Danube River.  Apparently its location was inspired by the parliament buildings in London.

Hungarian Parliament Building

2.  View from the Presidential Palace

View from the Palace

3.  View of lower level from upper level of Presidential castle grounds.

View from upper level of Presidential castle to lower level.  Just breathtaking!

4.  Funicular from foot of the hill to the Presidential Palace.  No, I did not use it either way – such contraptions scare me :(.  I took the bus instead.

187

5.  Guards swapping places at the Presidential Palace.  It is quite an affair.

190

6.  Heroes’  Square

180

7.  Square in front of St Stephen’s Cathedral.

173

All in all, I had a great day in Budapest.  I would go there again only if I can do a walking tour.  My companion is quite advanced in age and can not manage to walk long distances, but it was still very nice to discover the city through her eyes.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gallivanta
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 09:22:13

    What a great trip to take.

    Reply

  2. mukhamani
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 16:30:57

    Really beautiful, thanks for sharing:)

    Reply

  3. cocoaupnorth
    Jul 01, 2015 @ 08:38:31

    Lovely shots!

    Reply

  4. earthriderjudyberman
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 14:37:18

    Budapest looks like a gorgeous city. That Funicular looks like a roller coaster ride. If it wasn’t too scary, I might have chanced it. 😉

    I understand about the walking. In Rome, I avoided going on the Appian Way and seeing the crypts because of the distance involved. But we did get around the city and saw a lot.

    Reply

  5. UnderAnAfricanSun
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 05:03:28

    Beautiful photos, and a place I still need to visit. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

