Driving in Rome

I was in Rome for a long weekend and I saw a lot of interesting stuff.  One of the most interesting ‘sights’ was seeing how some people drive over there.

Most drivers did not give pedestrians the right of way at pedestrian crossings.  I was in the middle of road at a crossing, when one driver came speeding down the road and hooted for me to get away.  He topped up the hooting by giving me a loaded look. I had heard of Italian drivers before, but I did not expect it to be like that.  Many drivers in Lusaka are just like the Italian ones as they seem to think that pedestrians have no right to be anywhere near a road.

I have been spoiled by Viennese drivers who are courteous and don’t hoot at you.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dendymactoodle
    Aug 25, 2015 @ 09:29:06

    Doesn’t sound good. Here in the UK (oop North) I am constantly surprised at the courtesy of drivers. Often they will stop for me to cross while I am waiting to dash across at non-specified crossings (naughty), they seem not to care that they are holding up a stream of cars behind them as I rush guiltily across.

    Reply

  2. anotherday2paradise
    Aug 25, 2015 @ 01:48:23

    I remember being warned about the rude drivers in Rome. I was told that you have to be bold and look them straight in the eye when you intend to cross the road. It did seem to work. I’m still alive, 😀

    Reply

  3. Erica Herd
    Aug 24, 2015 @ 16:26:56

    Sounds like New York City!

    Reply

  4. masgautsen
    Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:25:46

    We had the same experience in Italy this summer! I was nearly run over by a Vespa in a pedestrian crossing when we had a green light and his was red!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

