Rome Part 2 – Colosseum

I will start off by saying that I am still very tired from all the walking I did in Rome.  I don’t know how many kilometres I covered but they were all worth it.  We arrived in Rome early in the morning on Friday so that we could have a whole day of exploring.  I was with my elderly relative and I had to plan our itinerary to suit her limited mobility and strength.  Travelling with her may take a little more planning, but she makes my trips such a pleasure with her perspective.

Our first stop after leaving our stuff at the hotel was the Colosseum – an awe invoking structure especially since it was constructed such a long time ago.  The queue was very long but it moved fast so we did not have to wait too long to go in.

  1. Part of the Colosseum is undergoing maintenance

Part of the Colosseum is being maintained.

2.  Looking in from outside

20150821_113107

3.  Under the main area of the Colosseum

20150821_122015

4.  Amazing workmanship

20150821_122539

5.  Striking building

20150821_130840

6.  The Colosseum looks even more amazing at night

20150822_211056_LLS

It always amazes me to see ancient manmade structures that have stood the test of time, be it wars or earthquakes.  A person can truly achieve unimaginable feats if she puts her mind to it.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Minuscule Moments
    Sep 07, 2015 @ 10:34:55

    Amazing photo’s.

    Reply

  2. anotherday2paradise
    Aug 25, 2015 @ 20:43:54

    Great set of photos! Love the night shot of the Colosseum. I remember walking my legs off on our Italy trips. 😃

    Reply

  3. Erica Herd
    Aug 25, 2015 @ 14:29:30

    We went to the Colosseum on our honeymoon. Incredible.

    Reply

  4. dendymactoodle
    Aug 25, 2015 @ 09:32:12

    Such an amazing place. I saw recently on TV a programme about all the underground paths and tunnels, sewers, water channels, under the streets of Rome. Miles and miles.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

