Vatican City

My relative and I went to the Vatican City on our second day in Rome.  I am not Catholic but she is.  I was very excited, all the same, to visit a place I have heard of since childhood.  The security wall is imposing and was really well built to stand the test of time.  I think there were almost a thousand people ahead of us, but the queue moved very fast and we were in within 30 minutes.

  1.  Dome of St Peter’s Basilica

20150823_095341

I easily lose my way, so I asked for a map to use for the tour.  I was told that Information Booth was closed and that I did not need one because the tour is “one way”.  There is nowhere else to go except outside and even then the only exit is by the one way corridor.

2.  Art just after the Vatican security point/reception

Vatican painting

I found the old Rome city not to be as clean as the new one.  Equally the new Rome is not as clean as the Vatican City which is very very clean – after all, visitors only see a small section.  One can see that these are definitely two different countries.  I am not surprised that the Vatican is so clean as I think they have a lot of revenue from ticket and souvenir sales so they can afford the maintenance.

3.  The garden is very beautiful and well maintained

Vatican courtyard

4.  Garden

20150822_121721

5.  I did not find this courtyard very nice as it is all concrete, but at least that keeps the dust away. 🙂

20150822_121310

6.  Picture of the Pope and a football team.

20150822_130325

The highlight of my visit to the Vatican was visiting the Sistine Chapel and seeing Michelangelo’s  ‘The Creation of Adam’ painting.  I learnt about the Sistine Chapel ceiling in third grade and so seeing that particular painting was unbelievable.  Photos and videos are not allowed, so visitors have to rely on their memories – I think online sources, no matter how good, are not as good as remembering the visit in your own way.

I was amazed at how strong my relative turned out to be.  She later told me that visiting the ‘capital’ of her church was very energizing.  Additionally, she could also sit and rest during the tour.  I had been afraid that her not-too-good health would not allow her to stand in the queue or do the whole tour, but I should not have worried.

7.  Guard at another part of the Vatican City on our way to St Peter’s Square

20150822_141319

After visiting the Vatican City museum area, we went to the St Peter’s Square.  However, you have to go out of the museum and go round the wall to the opposite side.

8.  Gate to St Peter’s Square

20150822_134313

9.  St Peter’s Square – that lady photobombed my National Geographic worthy shot 🙂

20150822_140716

Like I said in my previous post, my trip was made more enjoyable by my relative.  She is a riot!

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mukhamani
    Sep 20, 2015 @ 09:33:59

    Thank you, your photos brought back memories of our visit long back:)

    Reply

  2. thatssojacob
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 23:10:09

    Oh wow, the Vatican! The smallest sovereign nation in the world!

    By the way, you’ve been chosen as one of today’s nine blogs in That’s So Jacob’s Ninth Month Blog Challenge (http://www.thatssojacob.wordpress.com)! I challenge you to find nine blogs you find interesting and give them a comment to brighten their day…well, eight other blogs and mine 🙂 Copy this message in your comment and enjoy your new blog friends!

    Reply

  3. Minuscule Moments
    Sep 07, 2015 @ 09:31:04

    Somewhere I have not been as yet, but hope to one day. Thanks for sharing your experience.

    Reply

  4. cocoaupnorth
    Sep 03, 2015 @ 13:14:48

    Lovely photos! Pope and the football team, very interesting:-)

    Reply

  5. dendymactoodle
    Sep 01, 2015 @ 15:52:58

    Such a beautiful place to have been able to visit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

