My parents’ home

I had a great time visiting Zambia despite my reason for visiting not being pleasant.  This time around, I took a few photos of my parent’s house.  My parents did not have a big winter garden this year because of said family matters, so their smallholding was mostly bare and brown, but I still found it very beautiful.

  1.  My parents’ home – this is my favorite view of their house as I am coming around a corner in their yard.

20150920_102421

2.  My parents’ home is on a hill and can be seen for miles around – that’s it in the photo.  The views from the house are equally very beautiful, especially during the rain season when everything is green.

20150920_100351

My parents’ plan had been to build their home on a flatter part of the plot, but changed their minds so that they could have a bigger view.  It was definitely a good move except that it’s quite a trek to get to the house especially when it is very hot.

Sometimes I wonder what I am doing in Vienna in a tiny apartment and cold climate instead of being in my spacious house in Zambia.  Then I remember that I may not have been where I am today had I not worked outside Zambia. As such, I am grateful that I have had the opportunity to live and work elsewhere as I have wanted since a young age.  Maybe I will go back to Zambia to enjoy my spacious house, just maybe, or I will just get a more spacious place here.  Alternatively, I may continue living in a small apartment but enjoy the lifestyle that I have now.  Who knows?  All the same, I am just grateful for what I have.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mukhamani
    Nov 06, 2015 @ 09:03:07

    Your parents’ place looks very nice, is it far from the city? All the best:)

    Reply

  2. Bill
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 11:10:50

    As a young man I left my home in the country and moved to a distant city to make my place in the world. I didn’t intend to return. But 30 years later I became homesick and now I’m living happily on the farm where I grew up. My brother, on the other hand, left the area and he’s very happy in his new home, but he visits often. Maybe your future will be back in Zambia, or maybe not. But either way, I think it’s good to keep an attachment and a fondness for home. Thanks for sharing these beautiful photos. I’ve enjoyed learning from you.

    Reply

  3. BeeHappee
    Oct 14, 2015 @ 22:09:18

    Very beautiful, thank you for sharing these views. I know how you feel.

    Reply

  4. anotherday2paradise
    Oct 14, 2015 @ 21:03:24

    It does look very beautiful there. Well, you certainly have a few options, but I think you’ll probably just go back for visits. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

