Gynaecologists, European Style

Unlike most women, I do not mind visiting my gynaecologist whenever I need to because I know that it is good for me although it is an unpleasant undertaking.  The gender of the doctor does not matter to me either, as long as they know what they are doing.

In the US, my gynaecologist would cover my lower part with a towel or gown and get on with his job.  He made it seem as if the examination was all mysterious and not to be done in the open.  There would also be one of his nurses when he did the examination.  However, and this is a big however, the gynaecologists I have visited in the European countries I have lived in are a whole different breed.

First, the doctor asks you to undress from the waist down. No problem at all. The first time this happened, I asked the doctor for a robe but she looked at me puzzled and said there was no gown.  The changing cubicle was at the one end of her office and I had to march (that is how it felt) across it to the bed on the other side.  I felt very self conscious and wondered how foolish I must have been looking. No!  Don’t try imagining how I looked!  Well, that is what happens with my current gynaecologist when I go for my yearly check ups – and he is a man.

Second, the doctors (be they male or female) do not have a third person in the exam room to ensure that there is no hanky panky.  They just examine you in the privacy of their room, behind closed doors with no second thoughts.

I wonder why European gynaecologists don’t seem to be worried about being accused of being naughty since there is no third person.  Is it because Europeans are not litigation happy and do not sue their doctors about trumped up charges?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gallivanta
    Nov 30, 2015 @ 10:54:13

    Brrr. I would have felt cold. That’s my main problem with examinations at a clinic; feeling cold!

    Reply

  2. anotherday2paradise
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 01:55:29

    I have never come across this sort of Doctor and would feel most uncomfortable being examined in this way. I think we deserve more dignity than this.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Nov 22, 2015 @ 19:40:46

      It was very uncomfortable for me at first, but I realized that this is the way things were done where I have lived. I also think that the fact that Europeans seems not to be bothered about nudity makes the doctors not bother much about gowns.

      Reply

  3. YellowCable
    Nov 21, 2015 @ 01:48:38

    Very interesting.. to learn different way going about things in different country.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

