Visit to Bratislava Castle and Christmas Market

Vienna is awash with Christmas markets, but I have not yet visited any, though I have had to pass through/near some on my way somewhere.  I visited quite a few markets in my first year here and that was enough for me.

A group decided to visit the Bratislava Christmas markets and the Castle one late afternoon and I decided to go along.  I have been to Bratislava a few times and was not very impressed with the city, so I did not expect any difference this time.  We walked through a residential area which comprised apartment buildings similar to those in Vienna.  When I mentioned this to a friend, she said the Bratislava ones are not right next to each other.  In Vienna, you can see into your neighbour’s apartment – that’s how close many apartments blocks are to each other.

  1.  We went past an expo hall….

311

2.  Direction to the Castle

Direction to Castle

3.  Castle

Castle

4.  Castle, again

316

5.  Castle, for the third time

318

6.  Rider on a horse at the Castle, with the city beyond.

320

The Castle has seen its fair share of destructions but it was restored and looks very beautiful.  Unfortunately, we did not have the chance to go beyond the courtyard.  There were a lot of tourists/visits when we visited.

7.  Christmas tree at Christmas Market

335

8.  Christmas Market we visited.

329

9.  Cumil, man resting with legs in the sewer

326

10.  Natural and very fragrant room fresheners

331

11.  Street musician who plays three instruments.  Quite interesting.

337

10.  Presidential Palace – on our way to the train station

338

I thought Old City Bratislava looks a lot like Old City Riga – it has a lot of character.  My impression of Bratislava changed this time around.  Bratislava is actually quite beautiful and modern.  We had very delicious dinner at a nice restaurant in the Old City and were amazed at the low prices.  I would recommend a visit to the Old City which has more character (or should I say attitude?) than the new area.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shakti Ghosal
    Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:54:25

    Thank you for taking me on a virtual tour of Bratislava.

    Never been there but from your pictures, it looks like a typical European city. How expensive is the place?

    Shakti

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:01:54

      Thanks for visiting. I find Bratislava prices quite fair compared to Vienna in most cases. For instance, bus tickets (in July) were 70 cents for 15 minutes while in Vienna one way tickets are EUR 2.40.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

