Ploughing using cattle

It was my last day in Zambia and my brother was driving me to the airport.  As we were about to join the main road, I saw a young man going to work with his pair of cattle already put in a yoke.  I could not help but take a photo.

20160103_072353

Tilling the soil using cattle drawn ploughs is still very common in Zambia and some people run busy enterprises hiring out their ploughs during the rain season.  My parents also hire the ploughs as it is cheaper than hiring tractors.

Leave a Reply

