My parents’ dogs

My parents have three dogs on their homestead for security.  We never had pets when growing up and I have had none since, so it was interesting to see that even dogs has different personalities.

The first dog, and pack leader, is Spike.  He is a big black dog and has a cool temper when nothing is exciting (that is no strangers showing up alone).  Spike has no friends and even my brother who is a regular visitor has to call from his car to have someone get him.  Spike is also the dog that bit the snake to death a couple of weeks ago.  Spike is my parents’ hero and my father usually gives him more food than the other dogs because of this.

Here is Spike…

20160101_164239

The second dog, Dublin, is just about six months old but has already endeared herself to my parents.  My niece named her Dublin because that is the one city she really wants to visit.  Dublin is a very rambunctious/ playful/ happy dog.  Do not make a mistake of paying her attention or she will get excited and jump all over you.  I like her joy but not her jumps, so when she wants to show me that she is happy, she jumps on the other dogs – fine with me.

One of Dublin’s weaknesses, however, is her love for barking and running to the driveway when there is no one coming.  This makes the other dogs get all worked up and start barking as well.  My parents now know when Dublin’s barks are for nought and don’t pay attention to her.

Dublin’s other weakness is that she likes bringing home all sorts of items, like that old tortoise shell in Spike’s photo above.  I got home one day and found that my mother had sprayed insecticide in most of the house and a lot of flies had died.  Well, Dublin had brought a decayed cat and of course, flies had followed and unfortunately, invaded the house.  It was not the best of scenes, I must say.

In spite of her shortcomings, I love this little dog and already miss her.  Here she is on the kitchen veranda….

20160103_061632

I feel sorry for the third dog.  Not only is it nameless, but it gets called of sorts of not-so-nice names e.g. the mentally-slow dog.  Usually he is just called ‘the brown dog’ because he of his colour.  He used to get terrorized by the other dogs though they seem to have accepted him as he is now.  My father has been threatening to give Brown away because he is ‘not working for his upkeep’.  Should he give Brown away?  What do you think?

For some reason, Brown seemed to like me and followed me around more than the others.  I do not like him per-se, but guess I gave him the wrong impression.  In case you were wondering about a photo – No, I have no photo of Brown.  I just never thought of taking one.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gallivanta
    Feb 11, 2016 @ 10:22:12

    They all have a value and something to offer. Brown’s value is taking longer to develop.

    Reply

  2. earthriderjudyberman
    Jan 16, 2016 @ 17:57:59

    I feel so sad for Brown dog and do hope that he has a proper name by now. His personality might improve when he feels valued as a family member. Love is something we all respond to.

    Dublin looks like a fun-loving dog. I also wouldn’t want her jumping on me, but I love her enthusiasm. Our grand-puppy is like that and it’s a joy to be greeted so warmly.

    Spike offers great comfort, I’m sure, for the security he provides to the family. But I put great distance between myself and guard dogs because of a bad experience I had many years ago.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Jan 16, 2016 @ 18:11:51

      I will give Brown a proper name next time I go home. Security dogs are good if they know you, but terror if they don’t know you.

      Reply

      • earthriderjudyberman
        Jan 16, 2016 @ 18:14:58

        The guard dog I referred to was a family pet and I grew up with him for the first 2 or 3 years of his life before I moved away from home. On a visit to my parents’ house several years later, he snapped at my hand – and broke the skin – when I went to open the refrigerator. Quite unexpected and I’ve been wary of guard dogs ever since.

      • Zambian Lady
        Jan 16, 2016 @ 18:24:23

        I thought dogs never forget someone who they lived with even after several years. I guess I was wrong. It must have been terrifying to be attacked.

      • earthriderjudyberman
        Jan 18, 2016 @ 13:30:42

        Some dogs as one-man dogs. Their loyalty is to just one person. It was terrifying. Fortunately, the dog’s bite only broke the skin on my hand.

  3. Tiny
    Jan 14, 2016 @ 20:17:54

    I feel sorry for Brown too, and hope that a proper name and some positive attention will make him feel at home. And when he feels at home, he will defend the home 🙂 We had a wonderful black Doberman when we lived in Zambia. Our friends who were also our neighbors inherited Sporty when we left. He lived a long and happy life.

    Reply

  4. anotherday2paradise
    Jan 14, 2016 @ 02:17:30

    Maybe the third dog should be given a proper name to respond to. It might change his personality for the better if he felt that he too belonged to the family. If you tell a child he’s stupid, then he’ll grow up being stupid, but if you praise him, he’ll have a much better opinion of himself and will blossom. I feel sorry for ‘Brown Dog’.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

