Face-to-Face With Self Proclaimed Racist

A Middle Eastern colleague I worked with told me that her family is racist, i.e. anti-Black.  She says when she confronts them about their racism, they say they were brought up that way and there is nothing they can do about it.  Her mother says she is slightly better than her own mother because she accepts Kenyans – only because she lived there some years ago and so was made aware that Kenyans are ‘humans’ as well.   According to her family, blacks are inferior to other races.

I was minding my own business in a market one day when someone greeted me.  It was my colleague with her mother, who she introduced me to.

This is my hand which is black like my whole body  – did my colleague’s mother notice my colour?

20160219_115043

“So, this is the racist”, I thought to myself.  I smiled, greeted her and we shook hands.  However, the woman did not answer verbally.  I also noticed that she had a condescending look and seemed as if she could have been elsewhere doing something better.

Did it bother me?  No.   I just felt sorry for the woman as her life must be a nightmare, what with seeing people of colour (brown, coffee, black and blue black) everywhere.  She must feel tortured every time she leaves home considering that she lives in a cosmopolitan city and so will bump into 50 shades of black.

Even though she won’t read my post, I wish her a nice and non-racial weekend.

 

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Minuscule Moments
    Mar 06, 2016 @ 08:43:54

    It blows my mind that people think this way. You handled the situation with such dignity. Here’s hoping she learns a thing or two about being a decent human. Some people never evolve and that is very sad. They miss out on so much by shutting their small minds off and refusing to get to know their fellow man. Her loss.

    Reply

  2. jono
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 02:53:08

    I would bet the inside of your body is exactly the same color as everyone else on the planet. Your colleague’s mother probably doesn’t know this.

    Reply

  3. mukhamani
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 06:09:22

    It is very sad when people close their minds to everything. Here too it happens, but in the name of caste. The younger generation are not really bothered about caste, but for the older ones caste is the identity of the individual.

    Reply

  4. leggypeggy
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 21:18:31

    Everyone can change their beliefs. Back in the 1970s, I was shocked to learn that two male friends of mine didn’t like black people. I asked if it was because of a bad experience or ignorance, and they sheepishly admitted to ignorance. They’d never even met a black person. So a black friend and I took them out to dinner, and that was the beginning of them changing their attitude.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Feb 20, 2016 @ 13:58:20

      A little education and exposure can go a long way. Thanks for doing your part. I can confess that I had a negative impression when I was much younger about Moslems before I ever met one. I was pleasantly surprised to get to know some on a personal level, befriend them and realize that they did not think that their religion was better than mine. They accepted me for who I am and vice versa. This taught me to have a more open mind to all peoples and it has made my life easier. Hate and prejudice take time and energy to sustain them and I do not want to waste either.

      Reply

  5. BeeHappee
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 16:31:01

    Your skin is so beautiful, and your heart even more so! 🙂 I pray for everyone who still thinks that some of us are different or better than the others, or even better than other life forms.

    Reply

  6. Sonel
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 14:06:53

    What’s up with these folks that think they are better than others? I can’t understand it Z. The old excuse that ‘they were brought up that way’ is an old one and not acceptable anymore. They can change their beliefs and should learn from it, not judge people because of their colour.

    I also feel sorry for them. Love the ’50 shades of black’. LOL!
    They should wake up and learn to love and accept others as they are. Great post and have a lovely weekend. ♥

    Reply

Leave a Reply

