Zimbabwe Road Trip

I was in Zambia for over a month in March/April before my move to Washington, DC.  My brother and I decided to have a road trip for my parents as they have not been back to Zimbabwe together since we relocated to Zambia in the mid seventies.  They were very excited, especially my mother since she has never been to Harare.  My left our sister-in-law to housesit while we were away.

We went via Kariba so that my mum could see the world famous (or so I think) Kariba Dam – my dad has seen it before.  The dam is a work of genius and as my brother put it “years ago some people dreamt of a magnificent structure, built it and it has stood the test of time, and yet our modern structures built using the latest technology crumble at the slightest disturbance.”  I couldn’t agree with him more.

  1. Kariba Dam from no-man’s land.  On the right is Zambia.  There should be a lot of water gushing out of the vents (is that what they are called?) instead of that little trickle at this time of the year when it is the rain season.

20160330_094010

2.  The Zambezi River after the Kariba Dam.  The water level is really low.

20160330_094014

3.  That is Siavonga, Zambia beyond the River.  The scenery is very beautiful with winding roads among the hills.

20160330_094019

4. Kariba Dam structure on the Zimbabwean side.20160330_094225

5. Part  of the Lake Kariba on the right which is the biggest manmade lake in the world – I hope it still holds that record 🙂

20160330_094319

6. View of Lake Kariba on the way to Kariba town on the Zimbabwean side.  The view is simply stunning, especially when looking forward to sitting under a shady tree and eating delicious local cuisine (which we did a few minutes later).20160330_105842

7.  A random photo – this is the Zanu PF Headquarters in Harare.  I just thought I would include it for no reason other than it I took the very fuzzy photo….

20160331_095449

I am happy that we took our parents to have fun, something we have never done for them before.  It was such a blessing to see them so happy and making new fond memories.  I, too, had a lot of fun.

 

 

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tiny
    May 03, 2016 @ 20:49:21

    So nice to see the dam again! We made this same road trip at least 4 times when living in Zambia. Fond memories! Happy you did this for your parents and had fun!

    Reply

  2. anotherday2paradise
    Apr 29, 2016 @ 15:57:04

    How great that you could do this for your parents before you left. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Gallivanta
    Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:38:44

    So great you could do this trip for your parents.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

