Scorpion Sting!! Welcome to Zambia

I was visiting my parents in March/April and was sleeping soundly one day (as I usually do when I am there) and felt a slightly painful grazing on my left wrist.  I shifted in bed and immediately felt a really sharp sting on the inside part of my elbow.  I woke up and switched on the light only to see a little black scorpion in bed with me.  I managed to help it move to the next life without more damage to me.  This is not a clear shot, but that little devil’s sting was clear as to what it was.  There was not mistaking it for a mosquito bite!

The little devil!

20160324_005150  

I could not go back to sleep due to the pain and tingling sensation and so I took a pain killer.  I went to the clinic in the morning and was assured that Zambian scorpions are not deadly unlike ones from deserts.  I was given an injection for tetanus and one for something else plus oral drugs along with one to make me sleep.  I was forced to abandon my busy plans for that weekend with my baby nephew (OK, his is 17 years) and take it easy at home. Nephew was disappointed because I wanted to take him out for a great time and spend the night in town, but at least he understood my predicament.

The main problem I had was the tingling in my arm.  It was not painful, per se, but it is so ‘in your face’ that you just can’t ignore it and you can’t use the affected body part. Thankfully, I was up and running after four days just in time for our road trip to Zimbabwe.

Have you ever encountered an angry scorpion?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ilona
    Nov 19, 2016 @ 04:09:30

    Hi, I just want to say that I had a similar experience in Zambia. I was a Peace Corps Volunteer in Eastern Province from 2009 – 2011. One day I was taking a bucket bath in the outdoor shower stall and a scorpion came out from between the bricks in the floor and ran up my leg. I swatted it off my leg, but it stung the tip of my index finger! Over the course of the next few hours numbness grew up my arm. I rode my bike to my colleague’s house in a nearby village, and by the time I was there my entire left arm was tingling and numb. The numbness lasted a long time. Even 2 months later the tip of my finger still didn’t feel quite right. Your description is similar to my experience in that it didn’t really hurt, it was more just tingly and worrisome. I’m fine now, it’s been more than 5 years, and I don’t think I have any issues from it. The one that stung me was small and black, and ran at a blistering speed. Glad they’re not more dangerous!!!!

    Reply

  2. cindy knoke
    Aug 18, 2016 @ 18:46:11

    How scary!

    Reply

  3. Minuscule Moments
    May 29, 2016 @ 08:28:06

    I have never met one, it sounds very painful hope you are all better.

    Reply

  4. Bill
    May 25, 2016 @ 10:58:48

    Yikes. I’ve never had that experience (no scorpions here) and hope I never do. Those things just look evil! Hoping you’re fully recovered now and spared any more scorpion encounters!

    Reply

  5. thatssojacob
    May 21, 2016 @ 16:24:31

    Ouch! This is a huge fear of mine. Glad you are better.

    Reply

  6. dorannrule
    May 17, 2016 @ 15:10:31

    I grew up with fear of scorpions in Florida. Fortunately never bit.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      May 31, 2016 @ 15:14:13

      I hope you never encounter one – they are merciless. By the way I was in FL over the memorial weekend and had a great time with no scorpions in sight 🙂

      Reply

  7. leggypeggy
    May 16, 2016 @ 21:30:52

    Ouch. Scorpions really are little devils. Good to know you’re all better now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

