Miami Beach/Everglades Trip

I was not sure what to do with myself over Memorial weekend and decided at the last minute to visit Miami Beach since I had heard that it was beautiful and I was not disappointed.  When we were about to board our plane in DC, we were told that the crew had gone on an earlier flight so another crew that was off duty was being mobilized.  The crew members arrived one by one and passengers applauded each.  We finally got on the plane only to be told that the plane had no fuel and we had to wait for refueling.  I wondered whether my trip was doomed from the beginning, but thankfully it was not.

The streets were packed in Miami Beach and the interesting part for me were the scantily clad women of all shapes and sizes.  I was not brave enough to walk around like that.  I went on a tour of Miami, Miami Beach and Everglades.   I got a few photos.

  1. The beach where I went only once, all because my friend in Zambia told me off for not visit the one place Miami “Beach” is fame for.  I can live without a body of water or beach, so it never occurred to go to the beach until I was tongue lashed 🙂

20160528_200214

2. A chicken and its chicks I saw on the tour.  Apparently, this Mama Chicken is a resident near Bayside, Miami Beach.

20160527_152815

3. A sculpture at the Holocaust Memorial Museum in Miami.  I did not visit – I recently lost a loved one and am not ready to hear about suffering.

20160527_145152

4. Miami Beach skyline – on the way to Miami.

20160527_150935

5. Our tour took us to Over Town, Miami, where there are some colorful houses constructed by Habitat Humanity.

20160527_163243

6. American Airlines Arena in Miami for the Miami Heat and visiting singers.

20160527_152214

7.  There are a lot of scooters in Miami Beach and the interesting thing is that people rarely wear helmets.

20160527_174129

8. Jet skis at Miami Beach marina.  I wanted to rent one but decided to do so when a young relative visits later.

20160528_152152

9.  Everglades.  It’s a really beautiful place, a half hour away from Miami Beach.

20160528_113029

10.  Alligator near the reception at the Everglades

20160528_120044

11.  The tour guide.  The airboat is very noisy and we had to wear ear blockers (not sure of correct name).

20160528_113107

12.  A fishing hole made by gators.  Apparently, when was the Everglades run dry, these holes remain with water and trap fish thus providing gators with food.

20160528_115153

13. Some birds at the Everglades – not sure what they are called, but I did not like them as remind me of vultures.

20160528_121924

14.  There has to be food somewhere, no?  This was my first lunch in Miami Beach and it was delicious.  I enjoyed the potatoes more, though.

20160527_131839

15.  Refreshing pina colada. I am a teetotaler, so it was virgin.  It tasted  just OK, I have had better.

20160527_130122

I really had a great time and next time I will stay in Miami Beach for at least one week as there was a lot to do and see.

 

 

 

 

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wildlife-reporter
    Dec 07, 2016 @ 20:32:29

    Very nice pictures, thanks for sharing! I was there as well, just preparing my own article, will release soon on my blog! Keep in touch, following!

    Reply

  2. anotherday2paradise
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 12:31:40

    Great photos of your trip, ZL. Florida is such a laid-back place to live. We love it here, and still have such a lot to see, once the house is finished. 😕 I’m so sorry that you’ve recently lost a loved one.

    Reply

  3. Gallivanta
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 11:30:38

    Looks like you found lots of interesting things to see and do. I would like to try the pina colada, without alcohol.

    Reply

  4. Sartenada
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 05:24:08

    Wonderful photos. I have been to Miami many years ago, but never to Everglades. Thank You.

    Reply

  5. ladyfi
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 03:23:13

    The Everglades are interesting, but I couldn’t stick Miami with so many people – although it looks great for a holiday. I love that little pink house you photographed.

    Reply

  6. Dalo 2013
    Jun 12, 2016 @ 23:57:57

    Looks like a perfect get away. I’ve yet to visit Miami Beach or the Everglades, so it was nice taking this trip with you via your writing and great photos. Wish you a great week ahead.

    Reply

  7. Norma Chang
    Jun 12, 2016 @ 22:44:16

    Visited Everglades a few years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it, so much wild life and the birds are so gorgeous.

    Reply

  8. Tiny
    Jun 12, 2016 @ 20:39:38

    Everglades is an interesting place, but if you look for natural beauty the West side of Florida is even more beautiful, Naples, Sarasota and Tampa/St. Petersburg/Clearwater areas (where I am) are really more like tropical paradise compared to the Miami area, in my humble opinion 🙂 Happy you had a great time!

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Jun 12, 2016 @ 20:43:02

      Oh? Then, I will come to your neck of the woods next time instead of going to a place I had already visited. I just Googled Clearwater and I may find myself there one day :). Thanks for the piece of advice.

      Reply

      • Tiny
        Jun 12, 2016 @ 20:49:56

        You know, we used to go to Miami all the time, until a friend told me about the west side. Visiting once, we were “sold” and came back many times for vacations before settling here for good after I became a consultant and cave up my 24/7 international job in D.C.

      • Zambian Lady
        Jun 12, 2016 @ 20:53:30

        Talking about leaving DC, I have a friend who also had an international job in DC and quit one year before she was due for early retirement. She moved to FL (not sure which part) and said she was now very happy and relaxed. Her job had been very stressful in spite of not being in management. Maybe I should consider FL when I retire… but home keeps calling my name.

Leave a Reply

