Arlington Cemetery – Civil War Tour

I never visited Arlington Cemetery when I lived here previously, so I decided to go on a tour this time around.  Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting to listen to.

  1. The obligatory shot showing where parking is, even though I went by Metro.

106

2. Mclellan Gate.

107

3.  Rows and rows as I know them from TV

109

4.  Challenger Space Shuttle crew tribute.  It is such a shame that progressive people had to die such an awful and early death.

110

5. Grave of armed forces personnel who died during the Iran hostage rescue attempt.  I don’t know if I could do a job that put me in the line of fire – maybe I am just a coward.

111

6.  Columbia Space Shuttle memorial.

112

7. Confederate soldier sculpture. There are a few blacks on the statue apparently to show that they were accepted as equals.  The Confederate tombstones sharp while other tombstones are round.

115

8. James Parks was a freedman who worked at the Cemetery from its first day.  He was a valuable resource of information when history of the Cemetery was being done and was buried there in appreciation of his work.

118

9.  A black surgeon who attended to the black soldiers.

119

10.  A nice view of some of DC’s famous monuments.

123

I learnt a lot during the tour and was reminded yet again, how differently the West and Zambians view graveyards.  Generally, we (ie. Zambians) only go to the graveyard to bury our loved one and never visit them, certainly not to just walk about for history or anything else.  You would be labeled as a witch/wizard if you go there for an aimless walk.

 

 

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tiny
    Jul 06, 2016 @ 21:35:52

    A place that leaves an impression. Thanks for the tour.

    Reply

  2. Bill
    Jul 04, 2016 @ 10:54:24

    I enjoy learning about these cultural differences. Here it is common and normal to visit the graves of your deceased family members, to leave flowers, etc. In fact, I feel a bit guilty that I don’t go more often. It is very interesting to learn that Zambian people don’t do that.

    Reply

  3. Marko
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 13:54:05

    Hello
    I wish you a wonderful new week.

    Reply

  4. thatssojacob
    Jun 26, 2016 @ 21:26:38

    I lived for the first 17 years of my life in Maryland, and only last year did I go to Arlington Cemetery for the first time. Very moving place, especially the grave of the Kennedys. BTW, I haven’t seen you leaving comments on my blog posts lately…is everything OK? Let me know…

    Reply

  5. ladyfi
    Jun 26, 2016 @ 10:50:27

    A sobering visit.

    Reply

  6. joshi daniel
    Jun 24, 2016 @ 18:35:46

    cool and loved your descriptions 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

