Why I don’t give charity online

I used to be very involved in giving to charity, be it through the church or otherwise.  I believe in giving to people I do not know because people that are near and dear to me continue being helped by others/strangers as I live far from them.

However, a few annoying experiences have made me from stop giving online or by swiping my card  with volunteers I find on the street.  Why?  I made a contribution to a humanitarian organization by card several years ago and of course, I had to enter my address which I innocently did.  Well, these guys ‘harassed’ me for several years by sending endless requests through letters and even sent me a penny so that I could send them another contribution.  In order to have them stop, I ignored them, “Returned to Sender” to no avail.  Fortunately, they stopped on their own accord after some years.

I had made an earlier contribution about eleven years ago to a Christian organization because I believed in a project they were doing, and guess what?  They too have harassed me with request upon request and when I moved back to DC after more than five years away, I found a letter that had just been delivered to my office with a prayer cloth.  What?!!  They still have my data in their system.  My life was and continues being fine without their prayer cloths.

charity

“My” prayer cloth?  Who said I accepted it for it to become mine?

I find it a shame that organizations, especially Christian ones, cannot get enough money but want to fleece you out of the little you have – at least that is how it feels when their CEOs get USD hundreds of thousands in salaries annually.  If those people reduced their salaries to a ‘mere’ USD70,000 per year and gave the balance to charity, they organizations would go a long way.  It’s unfortunate that the greed of organizations may make other people stop making donations because they do not want to be harassed, like me.

You just wonder about the Christian organization – why doesn’t it use the prayer cloths to boost its own finances.  They seem to believe that the cloths can correct any problem, so why don’t use them?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marko
    Aug 20, 2016 @ 09:18:26

    I greet you and wish you a nice weekend.

    Reply

  2. anotherday2paradise
    Aug 19, 2016 @ 20:06:37

    I also find it very annoying when they send unsolicited coins or greeting cards to try and make you feel that you have to send money. It’s an absolute turnoff for me. 😦

    Reply

  3. Sue Slaght
    Aug 19, 2016 @ 15:21:45

    I do dislike how charities share contact information. I especially don’t like being mailed things and then feeling some sense of obligation to give back.

    Reply

  4. Tiny
    Aug 18, 2016 @ 23:58:35

    Great post! I have experienced same kind of harassment from many charities I have contributed to. Now I almost exclusively give to one charity only.

    Reply

  5. Dalo 2013
    Aug 18, 2016 @ 19:07:06

    You touch on such an important issue with charities ~ while a large part of charities deal with helping those less fortunate, it is the business side that also drives me crazy. Business is business, no matter where you go. Great post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

