Urban hike in Queens, New York

I have been to NYC several times before, but it has always been to Manhattan.  I decided to join some friends for a hike to Queens, NYC just to have another perspective of NY and not just NYC.  We left DC by bus at about 2.00 am and arrived four hours later in time for breakfast.

  1.  Guy being loving to his girl – mural on passage to Queens subway.  There are many more interesting murals on in the passage.

496

2.  Our first stop after getting off the metro, was Maple Grove Cemetery where we looked at various interesting tombstones.

497

3.  There it is – Queens Museum

506

4. A sailing club somewhere in the park that we walked through.

500

We walked on to Flushing in Queens after the park.  At one point I had to pinch myself and ask the hike leader if we were still in NY or we had walked to Asia.  There were a lot of Asians!  To honor the area, we had lunch in a Korean restaurant, which everybody enjoyed, except me.  I wanted something more filling as the Korean dishes were most broths with your choice of veggies and meat.

5. We walked and rested a bit in Central Park.

 

508

6.  I had told Trump that I would be in his neighborhood, but he was not home!

512

7.  Titan Prometheus at Rockefeller Centre

513

 

8.  Van Gogh’s Ear at Rockefeller Centre

516

9.  Time Square

522

10. The Garment Worker in the Garment District

523

It was nice to see another part of New York and not the same old places I have seen before.

 

 

 

 

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gallivanta
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 05:30:05

    Very interesting. I would like to revisit New York.

    Reply

  2. Barbara Rodgers
    Sep 02, 2016 @ 14:14:52

    Ah, New York is such a huge city one could never see it all! When I was growing up I had three aunts who lived there, one in Manhattan, one in the Bronx, and one in Queens. And my daughter lived there in Manhattan for a couple of years. I enjoyed seeing your pictures.

    Reply

  3. Tiny
    Aug 31, 2016 @ 21:56:38

    Great you got an opportunity to go outside the usual routes we take in NYC!

    Reply

  4. jono51
    Aug 30, 2016 @ 02:01:50

    A walking tour of New York! How fun!

    Reply

  5. heidi ruckriegel
    Aug 29, 2016 @ 01:59:37

    I like that statue of the garment worker. It’s nice to see a memorial to ordinary people, the ones who do all the work.

    Reply

  6. thatssojacob
    Aug 26, 2016 @ 22:32:37

    What a fun day. Hope you’re well.

    Reply

  7. anotherday2paradise
    Aug 25, 2016 @ 02:04:36

    What a pity that Trump wasn’t there to greet you. I’m fascinated by Vincent’s ear. Whatever will they think of next? 😆

    Reply

Leave a Reply

