Are some talents not worth much?

I have started thinking that one’s talents must bring one some tangible results (in this case aka financial gain) as I have grown older.  I know this is not always or should it be the case, but well…

I know people who are leaders in every situation – whether they want it or not.  My mother, for example, is always selected to positions in any group even if she is brand new in that township.  She has had to refuse many positions especially as she has gotten older.  Unfortunately (or so I think) for me, I find myself leading mostly during sad circumstances, like when someone is ill or bereaved.  I did not know I had a knack for this until when I was about 25 years old and someone in our office passed away.  I went to the funeral house with some colleagues but there was no one from our team to comfort the grieving family (something visitors are expected to do back home).  I decided to take the lead and said a few words.  I must say that I was shocked at how people received my words – they seemed to be touched and comforted, especially the bereaved family.

Lo an behold, a story went around the company that I was someone to have when there was a bereavement because I knew how to comfort people.  People started requesting me to go and pray, encourage or comfort those who needed.  I refused to go for bereavements during working hours as I did not want to eat into my working time, but somehow visiting the ill, troubled and bereaved became an unofficial part of my job description.  My manager was enthusiastically behind this and would arrange for company transport, during working hours I must add, for me to do some of this outreach.   I did not really appreciate this gift until I needed a lot of comforting and uplifting last year because other people with a similar talent came up and comforted me.

The issue of me comforting others has continued in my life with family and friends expecting me to be in the forefront to say some ‘wise’ and comforting words when someone is faced with problems.  I find it interesting that even at times when I am not prepared to say anything, words that flow out of my mouth seem to uplift others.

I know some may say this is a good gift to have, but you know what?  I sometimes wish this was a talent I could make money from, though.  After all, comedians, among others, make money out of their talent.

What do you think?  Am I just being whiny?

 

 

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tiny
    Dec 03, 2016 @ 19:59:16

    The idea of a book is excellent! And that could give you some tangible rewards already here on earth 🙂 I am sure you get some intangible rewards in terms of people being comforted.

    Reply

  2. Gallivanta
    Nov 04, 2016 @ 08:45:18

    If you were in New Zealand you could be a celebrant (funeral or marriage). To be able to do outreach is a wonderful gift.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Nov 04, 2016 @ 17:36:27

      Oh, Gallivanta, don’t give me thoughts about moving to NZ! 🙂 Maybe, just maybe, I will look into what being celebrant (first time to hear the word) entails. Thanks for commenting.

      Reply

      • Gallivanta
        Nov 05, 2016 @ 00:27:02

        The celebrants I know here mostly just do the work part time. I am not sure what training is required but a licence is required.

  3. allysoally
    Nov 04, 2016 @ 08:41:42

    Your gift for comforting those who are in mourning is divine. I understand that it is hard not to get remuneration for such a talent, but I think you are storing up your treasures in Heaven. Perhaps you should write a book and publish it on Amazon. Great post 🙂

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Nov 04, 2016 @ 17:34:11

      I am definitely looking forward to heavenly rewards, but I also look forward to earthly rewards especially when hard up 🙂 Write a book? Maybe couple it with my prison ministry experiences? Hmmm…

      Reply

  4. diaryofacelibate
    Nov 04, 2016 @ 08:25:22

    You are completely right!! But i do feel you can make money from this talent!!

    Reply

  5. Colline
    Nov 03, 2016 @ 21:05:15

    Sometimes we cannot gain financially from our talent. Unless we have the entrepreneurial spirit. Just like those who hire out their talents as personal shoppers, you could hire yourself out as one who helps those who are grieving.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Nov 04, 2016 @ 17:31:49

      Maybe the main problem is that I do not have that entrepreneurial bent. The minor problem is that I think I would find it difficult/bad to charge someone just to comfort them. I know there are grief counselors, so maybe…. Thanks for taking time to read.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

