Capitol Building Tour

I have lived in the DC area, on and off, for more than ten years but only visited the Capitol Building this time around.  I enjoyed the tour and learnt a lot as there was not only a lot to see but the guides were very knowledgeable.  I took several photos to remind myself – and some to share with you 🙂

  1. Helen Keller – her statue is  the only one with braille text added

029

2. Rosa Parks – the first woman and second black person to lie-in-state in the Capitol.  She was really a courageous woman.

20161217_150139.jpg

3.  King of Hawaii – I thought this was the most striking because of the bright gold garb.  Those who know me know how much I just love bold colors.

030

4. The Capitol dome seen from an underground area

20161217_152943

Statue of Freedom?  I think that is the name.  It’s a majestic one

20161217_153044

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aunt Beulah
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 20:48:56

    I loved these photographs. I have visited Washington DC but didn’t see them. Thank you for showing me a bit of what I missed on my whirlwind tour.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

