Panhandling for —– organic food! ??

I could not believe my eyes when I saw a panhandler in DC with the sign: “Please help me with some money to buy organic food.”  I thought, what the nerve of this man!  I cannot afford to buy organic food because it is usually so much more expensive than the ‘normal’ one, and yet here is this man asking him to give him my hard earned money for precisely that.

As expected, I did not give him anything.

What do you think about the panhandler’s very expensive taste?  Would you help him?

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill
    Jun 21, 2017 @ 11:01:38

    I’d be very very surprised if he intends to use the money he collects to buy organic food. Sadly, most street beggars don’t use the money to buy any kind of food. My guess is that this was just a stunt to get attention.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Jun 24, 2017 @ 19:30:44

      Unfortunately, I have to agree with you. One man was asking for 40 cents to buy ‘dinner’. I had just bought some take out and I offered him that instead of the money. He looked at me angrily, turned his back on me and continued asking for 40 cents. It’s quite sad.

      Reply

  2. mukhamani
    Jun 21, 2017 @ 06:05:36

    Exactly what you think 🙂

    Reply

  3. anotherday2paradise
    Jun 18, 2017 @ 11:19:29

    Well, it was a nice try. 😀

    Reply

  4. Aunt Beulah
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 20:51:59

    i don’t think I would have given money to the panhandler with specific requirements for what kind of food he wanted to buy. Do you think there’s a chance he was trying to be funny? Or was he trying to appeal to the snobbery of some folks?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

