Tooth Fairy – Memories

My little niece, NT, lived with me for several years when she was a child.   When children lose their milk teeth in Zambia, they stand facing away from their house, sing a special song and throw the tooth over their shoulder onto the roof.  The belief is that this ritual ensures that a new tooth grows.  Most houses are have one stories, so throwing a tooth (or anything else) over one’s shoulder is doable.  NT wanted to do that but I told her to keep the tooth and put it under her pillow and see what happened in the morning.  Of course, there was some money under her pillow in the morning.  I told her that the Tooth Fairy had visited.

NT was both shocked and excited at her luck and exclaimed: “I should have pulled out the other loose tooth and made a lot more money!”  I could not help laughing at the business angle my baby looked at losing her teeth.

Nothing special about the story, just good memories.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lori
    Jul 17, 2017 @ 19:19:56

    Good memories and a cute story. It made me laugh and that’s what’s special about it. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Aunt Beulah
    Jul 10, 2017 @ 19:56:00

    It is a charming story that brought a smile to my face. I’m glad you shared it.

    Reply

  3. heidi ruckriegel
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 10:08:41

    Lucky little Zambians. We never had a tooth fairy when I was a child in Germany, but I hear it’s now a popular custom there, too. Trust kids to latch onto something fun and profitable1

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Jul 10, 2017 @ 22:25:15

      There are rarely tooth fairies in Zambia either, only when the adult decides to have the fairy visit. Normally the kids just throw their milk teeth on the roof. I think either way is great as it spices up this phase of children.

      Reply

  4. Marko
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 06:39:10

    Hello
    I wish you a nice Sunday and a nice new week.

    Reply

  5. Vic
    Jul 08, 2017 @ 10:33:21

    I love reading about memories like this one. Just short snapshot of life from our past. Did tooth fairy come back for the second loose tooth? I hope your niece is doing well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

