Let’s do coffee

“Let’s do coffee some time.”

“Let’s do lunch some time.”

“I will call you soon.”

I can’t count how many times I have been told this and nothing ever came out of it.  At first when I just moved to the States, I used to believe it and would wait for the people to call since they said they would.  On other occasions, I would get in touch with them only to get excuses.  Without realizing it, I also started saying we should ‘do’ lunch or coffee ‘some time’ because I had come to learn that this was code for “I want to seem like I want to see you again, but actually I don’t care”.  I stopped saying this to people as soon as I noticed what I was doing.

I just wonder why we continue saying this even though everyone knows what it means or doesn’t.  I find it quite irritating to tell the truth. I would rather someone doesn’t say anything at all, but this is the world I am in.

To you reading this piece – let’s do lunch tomorrow.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mukhamani
    Aug 20, 2017 @ 14:15:34

    Very true 🙂

    Reply

  2. Aunt Beulah
    Aug 10, 2017 @ 02:34:07

    Years ago, when I realized the phoniness attached to the expressions you mention, I stopped using them and I instantly forget it when others say them to me. Instead, when I meet someone I’d like to see again, I call them and suggest an outing, lunch or coffee at my house. It seems so much better than the vague statements we so commonly use..

    Reply

  3. anotherday2paradise
    Aug 04, 2017 @ 01:37:23

    This is so true. ZL. 😃

    Reply

  4. allysoally
    Aug 03, 2017 @ 21:14:41

    I would love to do lunch with you, where I live we take it seriously! 🍔🍟☕️

    Reply

Leave a Reply

