Austrian Friend Visited me in Zambia

I was in Zambia for a month until last Friday. I have several stories but I will start with the one of my Austrian friend, Lisa.  We maintained contact after I moved from Austria and she visited me a few weeks ago.

I have no idea what fears were instilled in Lisa by well meaning people, but they made her think that Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA) was still in 1870.  Unfortunately, also, the YouTube videos she watched to prepare for her visit only showed the bush and wild animals.  The meds I know she had are anti-malaria tablets, insect repellent and upset tummy tablets.  She was also understandably warned not to eat any salad. Lisa spent the first two nights at my parents’ place and continually asked where the insects, especially mosquitoes were.  Well, there were none in the Lusaka area where my parents live.  I took her to Livingstone to see the Victoria Falls on the third day and the only mosquitoes she saw were during a cruise on the Zambezi River, which is in the wild so she disregarded those.  Lisa was also shocked at Zambian infrastructure, my parents’ house included.  It is modern and spacious!

Lisa had a slightly running tummy on the second night but it was over before it began.  How she panicked!  My family and I did not because we knew that it was nothing serious and it must have been caused by a change of diet.  She was perfectly fine by morning though she was still panicking and took some upset tummy tablets.

By the end of her trip, Lisa started asking why she had been given wrong information about Africa (not just Zambia).  She said there were more mosquitoes in Austria than in Zambia.  Without my knowledge, she had also been sneaking in some salad and her stomach did not react.  She also wanted to stop taking her anti-malaria ‘arsenal’ but I said that just that one infected stray mosquito could bite her, so she continued with her meds and spray.

She enjoyed her trip so much that she has told her daughter and son-in-law to visit with their baby.

I was happy about her conclusion of Zambia, but am still surprised at how my continent is still being portrayed by people who have or have not yet been to Sub-Saharan Africa.  It shows that there is a lack of knowledge out there.   Another Austrian friend is supposed to visit next year, but this one has been to SSA and other “third world countries”.

All in all, my family and friends were happy to meet Lisa and I plan on visiting her next year in Europe.

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lakshmi Bhat
    Aug 08, 2019 @ 05:33:01

    The same with my country, there are people who think there are snakes and elephants everywhere 😁

    Reply

  2. tanjabrittonwriter
    Jun 27, 2019 @ 22:27:16

    Old prejudices die slowly! I am glad you and your friend had a good time with your family.

    Reply

  3. Lori
    May 29, 2019 @ 18:59:49

    Heck, when I lived in Florida, there was a period of time when snakes were getting into our house. They were harmless, and they stopped getting in once we figured out how it was happening.
    When I went to Mexico, I was petrified of getting “Montezuma’s Revenge” from drinking the water. I had heard horror stories. We even ran into another couple at our hotel who had gotten it. They explained, in disgusting detail, what came out of them. Ugh. I never got it and neither did my husband. We had a great time.
    I think we fear the unknown and can only go by what we hear from others. I don’t know what the answer is to change perceptions, though.

    Reply

  4. Jeff Bell
    May 29, 2019 @ 11:34:35

    It is interesting how perceptions have not caught up to reality in Africa. In Zambia, we stayed in Livingston and Lusaka, both modern cities, and met urbanite locals. However, we did visit some villages out near South Luangwa National Park where people lived very traditional lives in huts.

    Zambian people (along with the people in Zimbabwe and Malawi) are some of the nicest and friendliest people I’ve ever met, and I’d love to go back there for a long term stay.

    Reply

  5. heidi ruckriegel
    May 26, 2019 @ 07:14:12

    I’m glad she ended up enjoying herself and seeing the country as it really is. I’ve had similar experiences here with some visitors to my accommodation – people have seen so many TV shows about ‘dangerous Australian animals’ that they think there are giant spiders, crocodiles and goodness knows what around every corner!

    Reply

Leave a comment