Good Zambian medical care

Most Zambian medical facilities owned by the Government are not the very best good.  I will not go into details, but just say a lot can be done to improve the situation.

However, one has to give credit where credit is due.  My mother has always generally been a healthy woman who worked the land for the past several years.  A few years ago she started feeling poorly and was diagnosed with a heart ailment, and know what?  The heart unit at the University Teaching Hospital (UTH) in Zambia took her case on and put her on medication.  She is well now, thank God.  She has to do things at a much slower pace but can still work the land, something that she loves very much.

I wish I had a clear photo of UTH, but I don’t so I copied one from  http://www.friendsofunza.org/3/miscellaneous5.htm

University Teaching Hospital, Zambia

University Teaching Hospital, Zambia

I know UTH staff who attend to my mother will not see this post, but I am still very grateful to them for keeping my mother alive and healthy these past few years.  Not only do they give her proper medication, but mum says they are very cordial and helpful.  To add icing on the cake, heart disease patients do not have to pay for treatment otherwise only a handful would afford.  What more can one ask for?

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anotherday2paradise
    Apr 15, 2015 @ 13:21:57

    Free treatment is really good news. So glad your mom’s treatment is working. We all need to slow down a bit when we get older. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Bespoke Traveler
    Apr 13, 2015 @ 21:37:05

    Very happy to hear that your mother got the medical care she needed to resume a life she loves. A healthy and active life is such a blessing and too often one that comes at great cost.

    Reply

  3. restlessjo
    Apr 13, 2015 @ 19:44:47

    There’d be no world without mothers. So glad yours is getting the help she needs. 🙂

    Reply

  4. mukhamani
    Apr 13, 2015 @ 16:56:40

    I am glad your mother is fine and it is nice to read about free medical treatment for people with heart diseases.Regards

    Reply

  5. Gallivanta
    Apr 12, 2015 @ 08:49:44

    I am glad your mother has received good care. I was admitted to emergency at UTH Zambia. The ward was ghastly but the doctors knew what to do and I survived my asthma attack. The nurses were overworked but kind.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Apr 12, 2015 @ 10:41:49

      I know what you mean about the state of UTH – it could be better, but the staff’s care makes a big difference. I am glad the doctors were able to help.

      Reply

      • Gallivanta
        Apr 12, 2015 @ 10:47:16

        Yes, thank goodness they were. They were all good doctors/nurses but at that time in the 80s there were severe shortages of everything. They were doing their best under very difficult circumstances.

  6. cocoaupnorth
    Apr 12, 2015 @ 08:04:47

    It must be comforting to know that your mom is in good hands. Great to give credit where it’s due too.

    Reply

  7. BeeHappee
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 13:10:36

    I am glad your mom is better. You know often everyone thinks medical care in poorer countries is horrible, but what I found in richest country USA where incredible amounts are spent on medical care and newest technology, it is very impersonal, conveyor belt like and often time all broken. Sometimes more personal care is better than newest machines.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Apr 11, 2015 @ 18:35:22

      I used to be one of the people that said nothing good could come out of the University Teaching Hospital and so it was a pleasant surprise to hear of and see the results of the efficiency in my mother’s treatment. It is sad when care is impersonal because that personal touch goes a long way in the healing process.

      Reply

  8. Jill Weatherholt
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 11:49:08

    I’m happy to hear your mother is doing better.

    Reply

    • Zambian Lady
      Apr 11, 2015 @ 11:58:50

      Thanks. It was nice to see that the medical services that are often looked down upon by its own citizenry came up with the appropriate and successful treatment for my mother.

      Reply

  9. masgautsen
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 06:46:56

    I’m glad to hear that things worked out good for your mum!

    Reply

  10. baliinfoblog
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 00:49:14

    thats great to know..glad your mother is better

    Reply

Leave a comment